Pertti Jalava

No photos available. Upload them now.

Born: May 4, 1960    Primary Instrument: Drums

Pertti Jalava (b. 1960 in Turku , Finland ) has composed numerous works for various chamber ensembles and orchestra, among them three symphonies and a piano concerto. He has also written a considerable volume of music for jazz line-ups and big band, and works for choir. Though stylistically he keeps his two main genres (jazz / chamber and orchestral music) separate, without engaging in crossover, he does allow influences to travel between the two and they have many features in common: the important role assigned to rhythm and melody, poly-phony, picturesque narrative and richness of event. His primary objectives are, Jalava says, emotional and narrative expression. Such aspirations leave no room for exclusions of any kind. In his music he uses strong contrasts, thereby achieving dramatic effects and aesthetic accents. Sometimes ugliness is needed to emphasise beauty: distorted harmonies, sharp timbres and aggressive rhythms. At other times these negative messages have to be offset by unashamed beauty in order to be experienced to the full. Rhythm occupies a major role in Jalava’s music. It is often motor-like and fre-quently asymmetric. Yet a meditative quality, or a kind of floating, carefree mood is also characteristic of his music. Despite drawing mainly on twelve-note techniques, most of Jalava’s classical works create a feeling of tonality. In his most recent compositions he often lets their nature determine the music or employs other methods of his own devising, assigning row technique only a secondary role. Nor does he belittle the role of humour, the very salt of life and music....
read more


- 1st prize in the composition competition of the Youth Art Happening, Lahti, Finland 1984
"Poem" and "Charm" for rock-jazz ensemble
- 2nd prize (the prize of Ville de Comines-Warneton) in the 1st Composition Contest
for symphonic wind orchestra, organized by Lys Music Orchestra, Comines-Warneton, Belgium 2002
"Nest of Wind" - 3rd prize in the Nordic composition competition of the Turku Conservatory, Finland 2002
"Surface" for string orchestra
- awarded in the Uussävel composition competition,
organized by The Society of Finnish Composers and Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival 2002
"Spiral" for clarinet and string trio
- 1st prize in the international composition competition for Big Band
organized by U.M. Big Band, Mouscron, Belgium 2003
"A Wolf Doesn't Make Any Questions"
- Two honorary mentions in the international composition competition for string orchestra,
Mouscron, Belgium 2003
"Surface" and "Like a Sigh"
- Honorary mention in the international EPIC MUSIC composition prize, Italy 2005
"In the Wind" for flute and string orchestra
(In the competition was given one prize and three honorary mentions)
- Honorary mention in the international competition
"Composizione originale per banda - 2005, Corciano", Italy
"Forms of Opinion" for symphonic wind orchestra
(In the competition was given one prize and two honorary mentions)
- Honorary mention in the international "Quey Percussion Duo Composition Contest - 2007", USA
"Pictures of Spring Stream" (In the competition was given two prizes and one honorary mention)
- 2nd prize in Esko Linnavalli composition competition for Big Band 2007
"Pluto? - It's Still Swinging There!"
As a Leader

Peppe Jalava Band: Go to the Beach
1 The Robber’s Hut 6:17
2 On the Surface, Occasionally Below 6:11
3 The Chain and the Gate 11:14
4 Rainy 4:25
5 The Bailiff 4:26
6 At the Flea Market 7:13
7 A Whisk of a May-Day Past 8:01
8 Go down to the Shore 11:47
9 Diving 7:13
Jaakko Martikainen: tenor & soprano saxophone
Antti Hermaja: trombone
Erkki Huovinen: guitar & chromatic harmonica
Mikko Multamäki: bass guitar & double bass
Pertti ”Peppe” Jalava: drums, keyboards & sound effects and all compositions and arrangements

As A Composer

In the Wind
Pertti Jalava
Concerto for piano, flute and string orchestra (2001):
1 I Allegretto 9:19
2 Interlude 0:50
3 II Adagio 10:26
4 III Presto-Andante-Presto 4:26
5 Like a Sigh a fantasia for string orchestra no. 1 (1999) 9:57
6 Surface a fantasia for string orchestra no. 2 (2002) 11:23
In the Wind for flute and string orchestra (2003): 7 Andante sostenuto 10:58
8 Allegro giocoso 2:29
Tampere Raw; Ari Angervo, conductor
Tuomas Turriago: piano
Ilari Lehtinen: flute

Disclaimer: All About Jazz is not responsible for the accuracy of the discographical data at the website(s) provided. If a link is no longer valid, please contact Thank you.

Sorry, no recommendations at this time.

Please Sign Up or Log In to send your inquiry.

Events Calendar

Sorry, there are no Pertti Jalava events available at this time. Submit one now.

TIP: Reach multiple calendar destinations with a single post. Learn now here.

Submit Take Five Answers. We'll publish your Take Five questions and answers as an article, feature it on the home page and link to it from your musician profile.
Post a formal announcement to the News Center. We'll publish it and syndicate it for you.
comments powered by Disqus
Rank: 9,272 Views: 2,856

Weekly Giveaways

Ed Palermo

Ed Palermo
About | Enter

Matthew Shipp

Matthew Shipp
About | Enter

Matt Ridley

Matt Ridley
About | Enter

Tord Gustavsen

Tord Gustavsen
About | Enter

An innovative and rich resource For Jazz Musicians

The All About Jazz musician database grows daily
with the help of musicians, supportive professionals and advocates.

Musician? Plug in and promote yourself today.

Learn how