All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » All The Little Things You Do

All The Little Things You Do

All The Little Things You Do by Rebecca Hennessy
buy album

Rebecca Hennessy

Label: Self Produced
Released: 2020
Duration: 01:03:00
Views: 487

Track Listing

All The Little Things You Do; Magnolia; Loving You; Deeper Than The Dark Blue Sea; Keep The Light Bright; There's One Thing; Dr Good; Eclipse; It's A Beautiful Day To Say Goodbye; Dig Up The Stories; When Stars Shine Bright; Nothing Passes For Favour; When You Say Goodnight To Me


Additional Personnel / Information

Tom Richards, trombone; Alex Samaras, voice; Claire Doyle, voice, Drew Jurecka, violin and viola; Thomas King, narration

Album Description

All The Little Things You Do is a beautifully written, performed and produced album by award-winning vocalist, trumpeter and songwriter, Rebecca Hennessy. It deals with love, grief and mental health. Being released between the death of her mother and the birth of her first child, this album will take you on a journey that weaves through time and space in unexpected ways and merges all the elements of her diverse musical career, featuring her warm clear voice as a lead singer and songwriter. Rebecca’s songwriting draws from musical traditions and genres including jazz, folk, roots and pop. Her band on this album is world-acclaimed and celebrated musical voices, including guitarist, Kevin Breit (Sister’s Euclid, Johnny Goldtooth, Norah Jones); pianist, Tania Gill (Happiness Project, Tania Gill Quartet); bassist, Michael Herring (Peripheral Vision, Bona Fide Scoundrels) and drummer, Dave Clark (Rheostatics, Gord Downie). Extra musical guests on this album include The Upper York Mandolin Orchestra, Thomas King (CBC’s Dead Dog Cafe, Inconvenient Indian), Tom Richards (The Heavyweights Brass Band, The Human Rights), Drew Jurecka (Jill Barber, Royal Wood), Claire Doyle (YUKA) and Alex Samaras (Beverly Glenn-Copeland and The Queer Songbook Orchestra). This is Rebecca’s first album collaborating with award-winning producer and engineer David Travers-Smith (Jane Siberry, Veda Hille, Jayme Stone, The Wailin’ Jennys, and Deerhoof). David’s attuned creative input and overall aesthetic brought All The Little Things You Do a level of lush expression that masterfully served each song and the overall shape of the album. This album features collaborations with numerous artists, including setting two of internationally-acclaimed author, Thomas King’s poems to music: “Nothing Passes for Favour” and “Dig Up The Stories.” These two songs were originally part of “When You Were Gone,” a commission for Silence in Guelph in May 2017 where Rebecca composed a night of new music for a collection of new poems by Thomas King, recently published in his new book of poetry entitled 77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin.


Album uploaded by Rebecca Hennessy

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Home at Last
Amit Friedman
Nik Bärtsch
soundz offfe drzk wähuh
Johnny Gandelsman
Rich Pellegrin
Ain't No Storm
Caleb Wheeler Curtis
Odd Wisdom
Diego Pinera

Free Tracks

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.