Cinque by Elio Villafranca
buy album

Elio Villafranca

Label: ArtistShare
Released: 2018
Views: 2,809

Track Listing

Part A:
El Rey del Congo – The King of the Congo; Narration 1; Cinque + Narration 2 (Part 1); The Capture (Part II); Canto Ganga de Despedida; Narration 3; Troubled Waters (Part III); Rezo Congo; Maluagda (part I); La Burla De Los Congos (Part II); Tambor Yuka – Saludo Ganga; Madre Agua (Part III); Indigo + Narration 4 (Part I); New Sky (Part II); Narration 5; The First Colony (Part II); 17 Kongo.
Part B:
The Night At Bwa Kay Man; Palo De Muerto – Llore; Kafou Ceremony; Narration 6; The Night Of Fire; Medley of Congo Songs; Mesy Bondye; Paseo (Part 1); Conga Y Comparsa (Part 1); Live Conga; Canto Ganga a Yegbe de Despedida; Congo Story; Canto Congo A Capella – Maluagda; Palo de Muerto.


Additional Personnel / Information

Elio Villafranca: piano; Vincent Herring: alto & soprano sax, flute; Greg Tardy: tenor sax, clarinet; Todd Marcus: bass clarinet; Freddie Hendrix: trumpet; Steve Turre: trombone, bass trombone, Conch shells; Ricky Rodriguez: acoustic bass; Lewis Nash: drum set; Arturo Stable: bata drums, congas, palo drums or atabales; Miguel Valdes: bata drums, congas, bombo; Jonathan Troncoso: palo drums or atabales, valsié, barril drum; Nelson Mateo Gonzales: barril, palo drums or atabales; Alexander Lasalle: vocals; Alexander Waterman: cello; NARRATION: Terrance McKnight; GUESTS: Wynton Marsalis: trumpet; Leyla McCalla: vocals; Don Vappie: banjo.



Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Glenn Close/Ted Nash
Special Edition: Procedural Language
Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp
Ever Since The World Ended
Lauren White and the Quinn Johnson Trio
Rah! Rah!
Claire Daly
Summer Water
Scott DuBois
Nate Wooley / Liudas Mockunas / Barry Guy /...
Vasko Atanasovski

Free Tracks

The Magic of 3
Alex Louloudis
That Other Shore
Forest Sun
All in My Hands
Angelo Mastronardi

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.