Cirkel by Jakob Sørensen
buy album

Jakob Sørensen

Label: Jaeger Community Music
Released: 2019
Views: 656

Track Listing

Open End pt. 1 #1; Steps #2; Cirkel #3; I Kirken #4; Drapeau Blanc #5; Solnedgang #6; Ageposten #7; Bryllup #8; Jagten #9; Open End pt. 2 #10


Additional Personnel / Information

Jakob Sørensen #1: trumpet; Alex Jønsson #2: guitar; Mathias Jæger #3: piano/synthesizer; Frederik Sakham #4: double bass; Frej Lesner #5: drums

Album Description

The danish jazz quintet Bagland is now ready with the third release Cirkel. The two former releases (NOMAD & Bagland) had a common thread of clear, spacious and acoustic sound inspired by the native Scandinavia. The new album Cirkel features a new pallet of sounds including distorted drums, synthesizer and spacey guitar and trumpet effects leading to curious interplay and a more modern sound. Cirkel draws inspiration from the environment at the very top of Denmark, Skagen, back in the start of the 20th century. Back then the painters were attracted by the light of Skagen, and portrayed life and all its moods. From the small enjoyments to the big questions of life. The same feature sur- rounds the 10 compositions on Cirkel. The melodies are lyrical, and the music contains both hope and happiness, longing and melancholia. But constantly with a clear reference to the nordic sound. All compositions by Jakob Sørensen except Steps by Mathias Jæger and Drapeau Blanc by Frederik Sakham. Cirkel will be released on 12” vinyl and CD under the Aarhus based label Jaeger Community Music. Acclaimed trumpeter and bandleader Jakob Sørensen has since the release of the debut album Bagland being awarded jazz musician of his region (Northern part of Denmark) 2015 and nominated for Danish Music Award Jazz 2015. In 2016 the follow up album NOMAD was released which gained both national and international attention. The title track was the foundation for Jakob being awarded “New Danish Jazz Act 2017”. 2017 was also the year for the release of the visual album with his trio FABEL.


Album uploaded by Jakob Sørensen


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Live in Hawaii
Doug MacDonald
Lost in a Dream
Kristin Callahan
The Painter
Tobias Meinhart
Monaco, Meurkens, Hoyson, Lucas
J. Peter Schwalm / Markus Reuter
Cool With That
East Axis

Free Tracks

Miguel de Armas
Sabor de Madrugada
Ramiro Pinheiro
Ann Hampton Callaway
St. James Infirmary
Jason Holcomb

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.