Learn How

We need your help in 2018

Support All About Jazz All About Jazz is looking for 1,000 backers to help fund our 2018 projects that directly support jazz. You can make this happen by purchasing ad space or by making a donation to our fund drive. In addition to completing every project (listed here), we'll also hide all Google ads and present exclusive content for a full year!


Cuadernos de Mexico

Cuadernos de Mexico

buy album

Various Artists

Label: Winter & Winter
Released: 2005
Views: 270

Track Listing

CD1 (total time 62:28).

Marimba Nandayapa is Norberto Nandayapa Velasco, Mario Nandayapa Velasco, Javier Nandayapa Velasco, Oscar Nandayapa Velasco, Zeferino Nandayapa Ralda: marimba (1-4, Mexico City).

El Negro Ojeda is El Negro Ojeda: vocals; José Luis Santiago: guitar and vocals (5-12, Mexico City).

Los Caminantes are Wilbert Paredes: guitar and vocals; Wilbert González: requinto and lead vocals; Augustin Marrufo: guitar and third voice (13 -17, Mexico City).

CD2 (total time 58:59).

Colibri is Arcadia Noguera Escamila: jarana and vocals; Guillermo Morales López: guitarrón and vocals; Victor Manuel Altamirano: violin; Carlos Alfonso Bocanegra Bolaños: percussion; Guillermo Morales Noguera: percussion (1-2, Mexico City).

Son de Madera is Andrés Vega: jarana and vocals; Ramón Gutiérrez: guitarra de son and vocals; Laura Rebolloso: leona and vocals (3, Xalapa, Veracruz).

Al Golpe del Guatimé is José Ángel Vázquez: requinto jarocho and vocals; Teresita de Jesús Islas de Gutiérrez: jarana, vocals, zapateado; with guests Silvia Santos Castillo: jarana; Honorio Robledo: jarana, percussion, vocals; Humberto Victorio: leona.

Matanga is Honorio Robledo: jarana, percussion, vocals; José Ángel Gutiérrez Vázquez: requinto jarocho, vocals; Teresita de Jesús Islas de Gutiérrez: jarana, vocals; Luana Romero: percussion, vocals; Humberto Victorio: leona. Guests: Silvia Santos Castillo: jarana, vocals, zapateado; Daniel López Romero: jarana, vocals (4-6, Xico, Veracruz).

Hikuri is Silvia Santos Castillo: vocals and first jarana; Daniel López Romero: vocals, second jarana; José Ángel Gutiérrez Vázquez: requinto jarocho; Jesús Camara Pacheco: coros (7-8, Xico, Veracruz).

Pancho Tina is Francisco Toledo Alonso: vocals, panchofón (9, Unión Hidalgo, Oaxaca).

Guúgu Huiini is Sabino Dali- López Charis: charimia; Salvador Hernández Esteva: tambor; Mijail Adonis López Ayuso: caparazón de tortuga; Robelsi Martinez Blas: caparazón de tortuga (10, Juchitán, Oaxaca).

Los Campechano are Lorena Campechano Yan: jarana 3/4, coros; Juan Manuel Campechano Yan: guitarra de son, vocals; Pablo Campechano: leona, coros, solo de guitarra; Paola Campechano Yan: pandero, vocals; Mariana Campechano Yan: vocals, coros; Jatniel Simei Solis Dominguez: third jarana; Gerardo Ávila: quijada de burro, zapateado (11-13, Santiago Tuxtla, Veracruz).

CD3 (total time 74:57).

Los Cojolites are Saúl Bernal Zemudio: second jarana and vocals; Marcelo González Molina: leona and vocals; Noé González Molina: guitarra de son and vocals; Benito Cortés Padua: third jarana and vocals; Nora Lara Gómez: zapateado (1-2, Centro Jaltipan, Veracruz).

Che Dró is Cándido Zárate Regalado Che Dró: guitarra and vocals (3-5, Juchitán, Oaxaca).

Duo Xavizende is Fernando Salinas: sexto and vocals; Máximo Santiago Sánchez: requinto and vocals (6-9, Juchitán, Oaxaca).

Banda Musical Don Pepe is José Luis Morales: alto saxophone; Augustin Ruiz Sánchez: trumpet; Vincente Guerra: alto saxophone; Macario Guerra: tenor saxophone; Juventino Gómez: redoble; Irán Gómez: bombo; Iván Gómez: platillos (10-14, Juchitán, Oaxaca).

Susana Harp is Susana Harp: vocals; Carlos Tovar: percussion and vocals; Jorge Garcia: guitar (15-19, Mexico City).



comments powered by Disqus

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!