Frisson Sextet

Frisson Sextet by Vernau Mier

buy album

Vernau Mier

Label: Fresh Sound Records
Released: 2018
Views: 884

Track Listing

The Spunky Beginning of a New Life; Na Carreira; Freedom Rythm; La Bossa De l'Encarnació; Vaya Turca!; Aspiration of a Painless Distance; Wo Isch De Blues; Zenzero


Vernau Mier
Vernau Mier

saxophone, alto

Additional Personnel / Information

Pol Omedes: trumpet; Vernau Mier: alto saxophone; Albert Carrique: soprano/tenor sax & bass clarinet; Joan Codina: trombone; Manel Fortià: doublebass; Andreu Pitarch: drums

Album Description

Frisson Sextet, the second album from the saxophonist/composer Vernau Mier, is an introspective work summarizing his personal experiences during the last months in Barcelona before starting a new chapter in Switzerland. It is through his compositions that he reflects on the experience of being detached from a place and a life and migrating to an unknown place. Looking forward to new opportunities with the freedom to explore new frontiers while dealing with the frisson caused by the beginning of a new life. Frisson Sextet merges different sounds of the jazz tradition, from a straight-ahead approach to free- jazz and odd meters. Although the arranged parts have a lot of importance on an ensemble like this, the improvisation and interaction are very present in almost every second.


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear

Album Reviews


Yuri Honing Acoustic Quartet

Battle Lines
Battle Lines

Steve Fidyk


Anansi Trio

Free Tracks

Groove Wang
Groove Wang

Michael Wang

Rythme de Passage
Rythme de Passage

Emie R. Roussel


Live People Ensemble