buy album

Tomoko Ozawa

Label: CD Baby
Released: 2015
Duration: 00:46:00
Views: 333

Track Listing

God Made a Little Gentian #1; Angels in the Early Morning #2; Epiphany #3; Tell All the Truth but Tell it Slant #4; It's Like the Light #5; The Flow #6; Depart from Here #7; I Never Saw a Moor #8; Shell #9; At Will #10;


Milena Jancuric #1: Flute; Juan Antonio Garcia #2: Soprano sax; Rob Taylor #3: Upright & Electric bass; Noam Israeli #4: Drum set; Tomoko Ozawa #5: Piano & Voice ;.

Album Description

Tomoko Ozawa’s premier album, ‘Gentian’, exhibits far-reaching compositional influences that blend impressionist melodic gestures with hypnotic rhythmic nuance and the playful improvisation. Ozawa’s pervasive and inviting musical influences are translated by the group’s organic execution. Several pieces, including the title track, ‘God made a little gentian’, utilize the poetic mastery of Emily Dickinson to guide the listener through the narrative compositions. The time-tested art of Dickinson combines with the sensitive performance of Ozawa to create a conceptual attitude that takes the focus from the exquisite technicalities of the music, and offers it to the subtle and introverted depth of the poems. Alongside the ‘poem-songs’, Ozawa’s trio is highlighted on a number of instrumental tracks. Her supportive rhythm section maintains loyalty to the greater arc of the album as a whole, and creates an enveloping bed on which Ozawa’s deliberate and tranquilizing piano playing is laid.

comments powered by Disqus

Related Video

Shop Music & Tickets

Click any of the store links below and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.