All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » James Banner's USINE


James Banner's USINE

James Banner's USINE

buy album

James Banner

Label: JazzHausMusik
Released: 2018
Duration: 00:44:45
Views: 457

Track Listing

Waltz; Usine; Baum Mitnehmen; Rests; 12345; Meow Meow Meow; Lewiston; Almost Moon, Restless Leaves, The Wind Falls; Trunk; Interlude 1; A Gallon Of Wine; Nausea -> Vomiting; Vigil.


Cansu Tanrıkulu: Voice; Declan Forde: Piano; James Banner: Bass; Max Andrzejewski: Drums; Fabiana Striffler: Violin; Arne Braun: Guitar.

Album Description

With USINE, British bass player and composer James Banner brings together a collection of European improvisors - all well-established in their own right - to create a sometimes homogenous, sometimes disparate sound-world. The inspiration comes via composed themes based on reworked improvisations, multi- lingual texts that are song, spoken and screamed, as well as the ever-changing world of literature, art, and politics in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. At the core of USINE, the golden thread of the composed runs alongside improvisational freedom, with an appreciation of both the rich history of acoustic jazz music and a recognition of the value that each individual musician and their unique geographical and cultural experience brings to the table. These 13 tracks create an environment in which these six friends and voices from Berlin’s rich improvised music scene can shine, at the same time fusing them into one single USINE.

Album uploaded by James Banner

comments powered by Disqus

Related Video

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.