buy album


Label: Self Produced
Released: 2019
Duration: 01:13:00
Views: 40

Track Listing

Kid Stuff; Come and Get Your Money; Healthy Habits; Beat#2; Go Home (Intro); A Kind of Breaking Through to Glory; I. Raphael; II. Gabriel; III. Lucifer; IV. Michael; Speckles of Bronze and Blonde


Eddie Codrington: Saxophone; Grayson Nye: Keyboards; Andrew Saliba: Guitar; Matthew Epperson: Bass; Madison George: Drums

Album Description

The 11 track LP L ushh is the debut album by the Kalamazoo-based electronic jazz ensemble. It is a representation of the Midwest band’s love for jazz, rock, funk, electronic music, and hip-hop. The album takes the listener through compositions by every member of the band—each with a different style, yet connected by a grand narrative. The band’s love for electronic music is prevalent right out of the gate, as the first track “Kid Stuff” whisks the listener up into a frenzy of drum beats before hurling into a tight dance groove filled with synths, bass, and horn. Featured on the album is the Archangel Suite, which is a four-movement collection of pieces written specifically for the band by saxophonist Eddie Codrington. Archangel Suite explores the essence of the highest ranked angelic beings in Abrahamic religious texts through the lens of electronic chamber jazz. The movements I. Raphael, II. Gabriel, III. Lucifer, and IV. Michael take the listener through this themed journey while presenting many facets of the band’s unique sound.

Album uploaded by Grayson Nye

comments powered by Disqus

Related Video

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.