LYVELIFE by Julian Hartwell
buy album

Julian Hartwell

Label: Self Produced
Released: 2021
Duration: 00:37:00
Views: 132

Track Listing

Now Is (feat. Stephanie Cole); Abstract; Rough Sketch (feat. V. Shayne Frederick); Mornin Luv (feat. Gary Dawkins); Funk All Night


Julian Hartwell
Mervin Toussaint
saxophone, alto
Dylan Band
saxophone, tenor
Rodrigo Pichardo
bass, electric
Keaton Thandi
Steve Tirpak
Stephanie Cole
voice / vocals
V. Shayne Frederick
voice / vocals
Gary Dawkins
voice / vocals
Russell Gelman-Sheehan
guitar, electric

Album Description

The long-awaited follow-up to the JHP's debut is here! LYVELIFE is a 5-track concept album about the living of LIFE in all its imperfectly perfect, unpredictable, and multifaceted glory. The culmination of a crowdfund campaign on Launchpad via Artistshare starting in Fall of 2019, LYVELIFE sees a new collaborative direction to the instrumental jazz-funk underpinnings of Hartwell's core quintet, featuring a host of special guest vocalists and instrumentalists now in service to a grander vision. Five original songs delve into themes of perception, perspective, spirituality and personal growth - tackling what it might mean to live "LYVE" - and run the gamut of musical influences ranging from jazz, funk, soul, go-go, to hints at pop. Gestated through the tumultuous year that was 2020, LYVELIFE marks an exciting leap forward for pianist and composer Hartwell into fresh and fertile terrains of songwriting, collaboration, and production, with the vision to match. Credits: All songs written/composed/arranged by Julian Hartwell (ASCAP).  Recorded at Rittenhouse Soundworks (10/27/19), Retro City Studios (11/25/19) & Treaclemine Recording  (9/18/20) in Philadelphia, PA. Engineered, Mixed & Mastered by Michael Cumming (Treaclemine). Produced by Julian Hartwell & the Julian Hartwell Project. Self-Released. Copyright Julian Hartwell Music 2021 (ASCAP) All Rights Reserved. Release Date - 3/12/2021


Album uploaded by Julian Hartwell


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Mono No Aware
Roberto Pianca Sub Rosa
Live at NIR Studios
Georg Graewe, Kjell Nordeson, Jon Raskin Trio
Dr. Lonnie Smith
Beau Bow de Lune
Val McCallum
Jesup Wagon
James Brandon Lewis
Songs For Tracy
Frank Macchia

Free Tracks

Baby You Got Me
Matthew Alec
Blue Rainbow
Sandy Asirvatham
Time Traveler
Nnenna Freelon

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.