All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » Making Up For Lost Time


Making Up For Lost Time

Making Up For Lost Time

buy album

Oren Levine

Label: self-released
Released: 2018
Views: 285

Track Listing

1. An August Day in April (feat. Barbara Papendorp, Tony Gudell & Aaron Myers) 2. Without You (feat. Barbara Papendorp) 3. Making up for Lost Time (feat. Tony Gudell) 4. When the Morning Comes (feat. Aaron Myers & Herb Scott) 5. The Heart Says (feat. Barbara Papendorp) 6. Nine Miles Wide (feat. Herb Scott) 7. Let's Wander (feat. Barbara Papendorp & Lionel Lyles) 8. All I Ever Lost (feat. Barbara Papendorp) 9. In the Lounge (feat. Tony Gudell & Lionel Lyles) 10. Alternative Facts (feat. Lionel Lyles) 11. The Bar Where I Belong (feat. Aaron Myers & Andrew Frankhouse) 3:28


Oren Levine: piano Aaron Myers: vocals Andrew Frankhouse: tenor sax Barbara Papendorp: vocals Ele Rubenstein: drums Herb Scott: alto sax Lionel Lyles: tenor sax Mark Saltman: bass Paul Jung: drums Percy White: bass Tony Gudell: vocals

Album Description

I told my teacher Frank Wilkins that I had never written an original composition. He responded “So write one!” That led to "Nine Miles Wide" in 2003. I was 40 years old. I started writing songs with lyrics a few years later, inspired along the way by places I’ve been ("In The Lounge"), phrases and conversations I heard ("An August Day In April", "The Bar Where I Belong", "All I Ever Lost", "Let’s Wander"), and musings on life ("When The Morning Comes"), love ("The Heart Says", "Without You") and even current events ("Alternative Facts"). I wrote "Making Up For Lost Time" while reflecting on my active and unanticipated musical life in Washington, DC. I dedicate this album to the vibrant jazz community of the DC region. I’m grateful to the players and listeners who make this a supportive and inspiring environment for all of us.

Album uploaded by Oren Levine

About Oren Levine
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.


Free Tracks

Bliss Station
Bliss Station

Eric St-Laurent

Willow Bunch
Willow Bunch

Aaron Dolman