buy album

Victor Dey Jr.

Label: Victor Dey Jr
Released: 2017
Duration: 00:58:33
Views: 101

Track Listing

The Highlife Suite #1; Mr P.K. Ambrose #2; Misha #3; Altered Steps #4; She Didn't Choose Me #5; L'il Miss Danielle #6; Mayra's Tune #7; Counter Attack #8; Closing Prayer #9


Victor Dey Jr #1: piano; Nicolas Genest #2: Trumpet; Bernard Ayisa #3: Tenor and Alt Sax; Frank Kissi #4: Drums; Mr PK Ambrose #5: Bass; Oko Amarteyfio #6: Percussion; Daniel Tettey Black #7: Drums (#3 and #5)

Album Description

Dey’s latest album, Makola (2017), named after Accra’s main busy market, contains zesty Ghanaian rhythms mixed with jazz, funk, and Latin American, representing “the spirit of the market which is diversity, movement and business”, as Dey puts it. Playing Fender Rhodes and other keyboards, Dey is well supported by ambitious solos of Bernard Ayisa’s tenor & alto saxophones and trumpeter Nicolas Genest. Distinct blues, ballads, and improvisations characterise this album without much West African punch. But there’s a reason for that, as Dey and I chatted during afternoon breaks from workshops at the Youth Jazz Festival. (http://www.alljazzradio.co.za/2018/08/12/ghanaian-modern-jazz-meets-traditional-highlife-just-barely/ - Carol Martin)

Album uploaded by Luk Denckens

comments powered by Disqus

Related Video

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.