All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » Once Upon A Time In Portugal


Once Upon A Time In Portugal

Once Upon A Time In Portugal

buy album

Michael Lauren

Label: Why Not Music
Released: 2016
Views: 809

Track Listing

Minor Strain; Bonfim Blues; Outras Viagens; Who Said Monopoly Was Fun; The Nearness of You; Seven Ties Corp.; Trains; Smoking Gun; Barro E Cal.


Michael Lauren: drums; Hugo Alves: trumpet; Carlos Barretto: contrabass; Jeffrey Davis: vibraphone; Nuno Ferreira: guitar; José Menezes: saxophone; Diogo Vida: piano.

Album Description

When thinking about how I wanted to make this recording, I decided to do it the old fashioned way. No rehearsals, just show up, check the music out, start playing it down, make any and all necessary changes, and then lay it down. Music recorded this way is immediate, honest, on the edge, and fresh. I wanted to make a lean, happy, accessible jazz record, an energetic album with strong melodies, inspired soloing, no fat, and lots of swinging. “Once Upon A Time In Portugal” 10 Best National (Portugal) Albums of 2016 (Arte Sonora)


comments powered by Disqus

Related Video

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.