All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » Righteousness



Righteousness by Various Artists buy album

Various Artists

Label: Blue Note Records
Released: 2006
Views: 435

Track Listing

CD1: The Phantom; Black Rhythm Happening; Black Heroes; Hey Hey; Psychedelic Pi; The Emperor; Riot; Sweet Pea; Soul Soul Soul. CD2: Message From The Nile; Slow Change; Acid Pot Or Pills; I Have A Dream; Illusions; Peace; Psychedelic; Slow Drag; Fulton Street.


Additional Personnel / Information

CD1: The Phantom: Duke Pearson: piano, leader; Jerry Dodgion: alto flute; Bobby Hutcherson: vibraphone; Sam Brown: acoustic guitar; Al Gafa: electric guitar; Bob Cranshaw: bass; Mickey Roker: drums; Carlos Valdes: conga, guiro. Black Rhythm Happening: Eddie Gale: trumpet, leader; Roland Alexander: tenor saxophone; Jimmy Lyons: alto saxophone; Russell Lyle: flute; Jo-Ann Gale Stevens: guitar, vocal; Judah Samuel, Henry Pearson: bass; Elvin Jones: drums; John Robinson: percussion; Noble Gale Singers: vocals. Black Heroes: Bobby Hutcherson: vibraphone, leader; Harold Land: tenor saxophone; Stanley Cowell: piano; Wally Richardson: electric guitar; Herbie Lewis: bass; Joe Chambers: drums; Candido Cameron: congas; Gene McDaniels: vocal; Christine Cameron, Eileen Gilbert, Maeretha Stewart: background vocals. Hey Hey: Andrew Hill: piano, leader; Woody Shaw: trumpet; Carlos Garnett: tenor saxophone; Richard Davis: bass; Freddie Waits: drums; Lawrence Marshall Vocal Choir: vocals. Psychedelic Pi: Lonnie Smith: organ, leader; Dave Hubbard: tenor saxophone; Ronnie Cuber: baritone saxophone; Larry McGee: electric guitar; Joe Dukes: drums. The Emperor: Donald Byrd: trumpet, leader; Thurman Green: trombone; Harold Land: tenor saxophone; Bobby Hutcherson: vibraphone; Bill Henderson 111: electric piano; Joe Sample: organ; Don Peake, David T Walker: guitar; Wilton Felder: electric bass; Edward Greene: drums; Bobbye Porter Hall: congas. Riot: Herbie Hancock: piano, leader; Peter Phillips: bass trombone; Jerry Dodgion: alto flute; Ron Carter: bass; Mickey Roker: drums. Sweet Pea: Wayne Shorter: soprano saxophone, leader; John McLaughlin: electric guitar; Miroslav Vitous: bass; Jack DeJohnette: drums; Chick Corea: vibraphone. Soul Soul Soul: Jackie McLean: alto saxophone, leader; Grachan Moncur 111: trombone; Woody Shaw: trumpet; Lamont Johnson: piano; Scotty Hold: bass; Rashied Ali: drums; Barbara Simmons: recitation.

CD2: Message From The Nile: McCoy Tyner: piano, leader; Wayne Shorter: soprano saxophone; Gary Bartz: alto saxophone; Alice Coltrane: harp; Ron Carter: bass; Elvin Jones: drums. Slow Change: Bobby Hutcherson: vibraphone, leader; Harold Land: tenor saxophone; Stanley Cowell: piano; Wally Richardson: electric guitar; Herbie Lewis: bass; Joe Chambers: drums; Candido Cameron: congas; Gene McDaniels: vocal; Christine Cameron, Eileen Gilbert, Maeretha Stewart: background vocals. Acid Pot Or Pills: Horace Silver: piano, leader; Cecil Bridgewater: trumpet; Harold Vick: tenor saxophone; Richie Resnicoff: elecric guitar; Bob Cranshaw: electric bass; Mickey Roker: drums; Salome Bey: vocals. I Have A Dream: Herbie Hancock: piano, leader; Johnny Coles: trumpet; Garnett Brown: trombone; Jack Jeffers: bass trombone; Jerome Richardson: tenor saxophone; Romeo Penque: bass clarinet; Buster Williams: bass; Albert Heath: drums. Illusions: Andrew Hill: leader, vocals; Bennie Maupin: tenor saxophone; Ron Carter: bass; Mickey Roker: drums; Sanford Allen: violin; Al Brown, Selwart Clarke: viola; Kermit Moore: cello. Peace: Horace Silver: piano, leader; Randy Brecker: trumpet; George Coleman: tenor saxophone; Bob Cranshaw: bass; Mickey Roker: drums; Andy Bey: vocals. Psychedelic: Lee Morgan: trumpet, leader; Jackie McLean: alto saxophone; Frank Mitchell: tenor saxophone; Cedar Walton: piano; Victor Sproles: bass; Billy Higgins: drums. Slow Drag: Donald Byrd: trumpet, leader; Sonny Red: alto saxophone: Cedar Walton: piano; Walter Booker: bass; Billy Higgins: drums. Fulton Street: Eddie Gale: trumpet, leader; Russell Lyle: tenor saxophone; Judah Samuel, James Reid: bass; Richard Hackett, Thomas Holman: drums; Elaine Beener: lead vocals; Jo-Ann Gale, Sylvia Gibbs, Barbara Dove, Evelyn Goodwin, Art Jenkins, Fulumi Prince, Norman Wright, Edward Walrond, Sondra Walston, Mildred Weston: vocals.



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.

Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers
CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more
Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads
Specializing in music, movies and video games
Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear

Album Reviews

Love Letter
Love Letter

Jimmy Heath

The Dead Don't Dream
The Dead Don't Dream

Verneri Pohjola

Symbolic Reality
Symbolic Reality

Matthew Shipp String Trio

Hidden Beauty
Hidden Beauty


Free Tracks

Trio 3
Trio 3

Paul Jones

Blind Love
Blind Love

Denman Maroney


Loz Speyer


Bill Warfield

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.