buy album

David Friesen

Label: ORIGIN 82744
Released: 2017
Views: 2,214

Track Listing

DISC ONE: 1. Wrinkle 4:41 2. Basic Strategy 4:56 3. Brilliant Heart* 5:11 4. Martin's balcony 2:56 5. Left Field Blues 3:26 6. New Hope* 3:41 7. Roof Tops 4:45 8. Seam Line 6:11 9. Going Forth* 6:14 10. Lament for the Lost/Procession 8:16 DISC TWO: 1. Make Believe 4:12 2. New Hope 4:16 3. Romantic 3:45 4. Quietly Unfolding 4:18 5. Alaskan Waters 4:25 6. Undisclosed 5:20 7. At Last, At Rest 4:05 8. Passage 3:58 9. My Faith, My Life 4:07


DISC ONE: DAVID FRIESEN - Hemage bass, piano JOE MANIS - tenor & soprano saxophones DISC TWO: DAVID FRIESEN - Hemage bass LARRY KOONSE - electric guitar

Album Description

With 50 years of designing sublime musical architecture where risk-taking, rhythmic rapport, originality, and giving of oneself to the music are the vital ingredients, legendary bassist David Friesen has reached a creative pinnacle. The two-disc set, "Structures," highlights his capacities and his original compositions through duos with two dynamic improvisors he's partnered with over the years. Disc One offers saxophonist Joe Manis and Friesen in a live duo performance in Ukraine while on tour in early 2017. On Disc Two, David carries on with an eclectic musical relationship started back when master guitarist Larry Koonse was still a student. Together they have created an intimate album, sharing conversations full of vitality, warmth, and great musical respect. "Few solo musicians on any instrument have made music as powerful and deeply moving as David Friesen." - Oakland Tribune.

About David Friesen
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.


Track of the day

Efêmera 6
Efêmera 6

Billy Ponzio

Friend's ship
Friend's ship

Rodrigo Simoes