All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » The John Irvine Band

The John Irvine Band

The John Irvine Band has released three critically acclaimed CDs of Jazz-Rock music, ‘Wait & See’ (2011), ‘Next Stop’ (2015) and ‘Metaphysical Attractions’ (2018). All three albums have received plaudits from many magazines and websites, and several tracks have been played on internet and terra firma radio stations, such as: The Prog Rock Palace, Xymphonia, El Ritorno Del Gigante, Canvas Prog Hour, Friday Night Progressive and many more.

Both ‘Wait & See’ and ‘Next Stop’ were recorded with the same band lineup: John Irvine: Guitars, Keyboards, Alan Emslie: Drums, Percussion and Doug Kemp: Bass. ‘Metaphysical Attractions’ features a new line-up: Rich Kass on Drums, Rob Ironside on Sax and Gwen Kelso on flute.


“The progressive rock album that Allan Holdsworth never made.” René Yedema (Radio Xymphonia)

“Irvine just about revolutionizes the entire jazz-rock instrumental concept.” Robert Silverstein (

“One of the best albums of 2013, across the board.” DJ Markuss (Prog Rock Palace – KDVS 90.3 FM)

“Intelligently written progressive fusion: 14.5/16” Warren Barker (Progression Magazine)

“A group that, ultimately, can become one of the most high-profile acts of this kind worldwide: 9/10” Alfredo Tapia-Carreto (

“These are musicians that are worthy of global attention.” MJ Brady (

“When, in 2011, a better sounding guitar CD is made, I’ll be very curious, because ‘Wait & See’ sounds so insanely good that ‘hi-fi’ is a understatement.” Erik Groeneweg (Progwereld)

“Wait & See is a fine album packed with jazz-rock class.” Peppe Di Spirito (

Photos (6)


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.