All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975

Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975

Torrid Zone - The Vertigo Recordings 1970-1975 by Ian Carr
buy album

Ian Carr

Label: Esoteric Recordings
Released: 2019
Views: 1,472

Track Listing

CD 1: [Elastic Rock]: 1916; Elastic Rock; Striation; Taranki; Twisted Track; Crude Blues (Part One); Crude Blues (Part Two); 1916 - The Battle Of Boogaloo; Torrid Zone; Stonescape; Earth Mother; Speaking For Myself, Personally, In My Own Opinion, I Think; Persephone’s Jive. [We'll Talk About It Later]: Song For The Bearded Lady; Sun Child; Lullaby For A Lonely Child; We’ll Talk About It Later. CD 2: [We'll Talk About It Later (continued)]; Oasis; Ballad Of Joe Pimp; Easter 1916. [Solar Plexus]: Elements I & II; Changing Times; Bedrock Deadlock; Spirit Level; Torso; Snakehip’s Dream. CD3: [Belladonna]: Belladonna; Summer Rain; Remadione; May Day; Suspension; Hector’s House. [Labyrinth]: Origins; Bull Dance; Ariadne; Arena. CD 4: [Labyrinth (continued)]: Exultation; Naxos. [Roots]: Roots; Images; Caliban; Whapatiti; Capricorn; Odokamona; Southern Roots And Celebration. [Under The Sun]: In Procession; The Addison Trip; Pastoral Graffiti; New Life; A Taste Of Sasparilla. CD 5: [Under The Sun (continued)]:Theme 1 - Sasparilla; Theme 2 - Feast Alfresco; Theme 3 - Rites Of Man. [Snakehips Etcetera]: Rat’s Bag; Alive And Kicking; Rachel’s Tune; Snakehips Etcetera; Pussyfoot; Heyday. CD 6: [Alleycat]: Phaideaux Corner; Alleycat; Splat; You Can’t Be Sure; Nosegay.


Ian Carr

Additional Personnel / Information

Ian Carr (CD1-6), Kenny Wheeler (CD2-4), Harry Beckett (CD2): trumpet, flugelhorn; Karl Jenkins (CD1-2): baritone saxophone, oboe, piano, Hohner electric piano; Brian Smith (CD1-4): tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, alto flute, bamboo flute; Tony Roberts (CD2): tenor saxophone, bass clarinet; Bob Bertles (CD4-6): alto saxophone, baritone saxophone; bass clarinet, flute; Dave Macrae (CD3-4), Gordon Beck (CD3, CD5): electric piano; Geoff Castle (CD4-6): keyboards, Moog, percussion; Chris Spedding (CD1-2): electric guitar, bouzouki; Allan Holdsworth (CD3), Jocelyn Pitchen (CD4): guitar; Ken Shaw (CD4-6): guitar, 12-string guitar ; Jeff Clyne (CD1-2): bass, electric bass; Ron Mathewson (CD2), Roy Babbington (CD3-4), Roger Sutton (CD4-6): bass guitar; Keith Winter (CD2-4): VCS3 synthesizer; John Marshall (CD1-2), Clive Thacker (CD1-2): drums, percussion; Tony Levin (CD3-4), Roger Sellers (CD5-6): drums; Bryan Spring (CD4-5): drums, percussion, tympani; Trevor Tomkins (CD3-4, 6), Aureo de Souza (CD4): percussion; Norma Winstone (CD3-4), (CD3-4); (CD3-4): vocals (CD4); Kieran White (CD4): vocals ("The Addison Trip").



Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

A Conversation
Tim Hagans-NDR Big Band
Die Unwucht
Christopher Kunz & Florian Fischer
In Space
The Luvmenauts
Afrika Love
Alchemy Sound Project

Free Tracks

Walter's Love
Roan Kearsey-Lawson
Ruby's Waltz
Andrew Nixon
Lo abismal, el agua
Luciana Morelli

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.