All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » Visions Of A Peaceful Planet


Visions Of A Peaceful Planet

Visions Of A Peaceful Planet by Ancient Future

buy album

Ancient Future

Label: Records
Released: 1980
Duration: 43:17
Views: 641

Track Listing

Zzaj; Moonbath; Morning Song; Incandescence; Bright Wind; Eternal Embrace.


Ancient Future
Ancient Future


Additional Personnel / Information

Matthew Montfort: scalloped fretboard guitar, acoustic guitar, sitar; Mindia Devi Klein: bansuri and silver flutes, tabla bol recitation; Benjy Wertheimer: tabla, esraj; Phil Fong: sarod, Irish harp, classical guitar, zither; Mark Fuller: cymbals.

Album Description

Visions of a Peaceful Planet by Ancient Future is the band's debut recording, recorded between December 1978 and May of 1979, when all of the members were studying at the Ali Akbar College of Music in San Rafael, California, under the late sarod master, Ustad Ali Akbar Khan. "By listing the instruments involved in this wonderful, worldly recording project one can imagine the aural possibilities – sitar, steel string guitar with scalloped fretboard, North Indian bamboo flute, tabla, cymbal, esraj, zither, flamenco guitar, Irish harp, tanpura, etc." "The first thing that makes this LP a delight is the magnificence of the instrumental blending. 'Zzaj,' by Montfort, for instance, sounds like music to celebrate the sunrise. 'Morning Song,' on the other hand, is based on Indian instruments, the Bansuri flute of Klein over a harmonic bed of sitar, tabla, sarod, zither, and tanpura; great stuff sounds like a dove whistling in a forest of stringed instruments." – Philip Elwood, San Francisco Examiner



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear

Album Reviews


Yuri Honing Acoustic Quartet

Battle Lines
Battle Lines

Steve Fidyk


Anansi Trio

Free Tracks

Groove Wang
Groove Wang

Michael Wang

Rythme de Passage
Rythme de Passage

Emie R. Roussel


Live People Ensemble

It's Too Darn Hot
It's Too Darn Hot

Joyce Elaine Yuille