All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » World Without Walls


World Without Walls

World Without Walls by Ancient Future buy album

Ancient Future

Label: Capitol Records
Released: 2011
Views: 1,588

Track Listing

Lakshmi Rocks Me; Dance Of The Rain Forest; April Air; 14 Steps; End Of The Beginning; Turkish Taffy; Alap; Indra's Net; Nyo Nyo Gde; Gopi Song.


Ancient Future
Ancient Future


Additional Personnel / Information

Matthew Montfort: steel string guitars, classical guitar, electric guitars, guitar synthesizers, scalloped fretboard guitar, mandolin; Zakir Hussain: tabla, kanjira; Doug McKeehan: synthesizers, piano; Jim Hurley: acoustic violins, Zeta electric violin, steel string guitar; Ian Dogole: udu, talking drum, congas, shaker, bongos, dumbek, bass drums, sleigh bells, cymbal, bells, chimes, kendang, kajar, ceng-ceng; Jack Dorsey: drum set; Gary Brown: fretless electric bass; Jeff Narell: steel drums; Bill Douglass: acoustic bass, Chinese flutes; Vince Delgado: tambourine; Bruce Kaphan: shaker.

Album Description

As its name suggests, World Without Walls by Ancient Future depicts a musical world without borders. It features performances by such world music luminaries as Zakir Hussain, the master of the North Indian tabla. The inviting melodies and ingenious use of ethnic textures make this recording one of Ancient Future's most accessible and broadly appealing releases ever. Twenty two years after its initial release in 1990, broadcasters worldwide voted the record as one of the top 5 world music releases of 2012.



Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Swantje Lampert
Leonine Aspects
Matthew Shipp
Dice of Tenors
César Cardoso

Free Tracks

Susan Alcorn
Pete Malinverni
Grace Over Karma
Charlie Peacock

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.